Untitled Document




Four schools split the honors in the four –division And1 –Futures Basketball League ( FBL ) 3 on 3 Baller Battle finals held last week-end at the activity center of the TriNoma Mall before a packed crowd of basketball fans .

Ateneo de Manila actually had the best opportunity to dominate the finals of the event presented by And1 and Primovit Multivitamins as the Katipunan-based cagers entered 3 teams in the finals, squaring off against San Beda in both the mini and the midgets divisions and against archrival La Salle – Greenhills while the lone girls division championship match had Adamson going up against the Diliman Prep school.

However, Ateneo . led by MVP awardee Michael Nieto, managed to win only the mini division, beating San Beda in impressive fashion 22 - 4 ,earlier, Nieto and teammates Enzo Joson, brother Matthew, and Jolo Mendoza ousted Xavier 19 – 4 in the semifinals while San Beda eliminated Don Bosco 15 -9 in the other semifinal match-up of the tournament sponsored by Gatorade, Ayala Malls, TJ Hotdogs, TriNoma Mall, Tom’s World, Gameface.com, Taraflex Sports Flooring, Lifetime Goals, Accord Capital, and Dunlop Sports

Ateneo lost out in their other championship bids as two time San Beda-Alabang MVP Francis Abarcar presided over his school’s 15 – 10 upset victory over Ateneo in the midgets division to claim the championship, the other members of the champion team were Jao Ravago, Brent Quinones, and Jameg Anchoriz.

The most bitter pill though for Ateneo was in the juniors division as La Salle-Greenhills tied the game at 14-all in regulation with a last second outside basket by Ervin Flores and in the ensuing free throw shoot-out, the young Archers outsteadied the Eaglets 3 to 1 to peg the final score at 17 – 15. Awarded MVP in the division was La Salle’s Martin Reyes , the other members of the champion team were Jio Henares and Edwhill Malimban.

The girls’s finals was another close game but Adamson, whose players won the NCR Palarong Pilipino last year for Manila, and led by diminutive MVP Mina Reyes , edged out La Salle College – Antipolo 14 – 12. to win the crown, Reyes was joined by teammates Angel Ortega, Nef Taller, and April Penaranda.

Futures Sports & Events president Paul Wee with wife Pleshette Wee, , VP-Marketing Dondell Pasion, and AND1’s Brand Manager Raymond Lim presented the cash prizes amounting to P10,000 and other prizes in kind each to the champion teams.

Other 3 on 3 tournaments will also be played in Cebu and Davao this summer.

2007 Midgets 3-Peat Champions - San Beda College Alabang
2006 Girls Midgets Champions - Miriam College Grade School
Untitled Document
This site is powered by Gameface.ph
Copyright © 2005 - 2018. Gameface.ph
Visitor count:
Follow us on: